NaNo 2016: Mid-Month Check-In

I never meant to make NaNoWriMo a habit. Last November I wrote Between the Trees, which turned out quite well but was not a novel, not 50k words, and not finished until December; this year it took me until the 1st of November to even consider having another go, until the 2nd to commit (on a bit of a lark, in honesty), and until the 5th to actually make any sort of start. Nothing like a slow beginning to put on a bit of pressure, eh?

words-per-day

That straight line there, way up above my daily wordcount? That’s the par.

What an astoundingly inspirational graph, eh? Eh??

Well, it’s been one of those months in which I spent half a night at the hospital instead of writing or sleeping, my time and concentration keep scattering, and WWII films have suddenly become frighteningly topical (I recommend Sophie Scholl – Die letzten Tage (Sophie Scholl – The Final Days)). Still, I’d like to finish this project on time: so, in the hope that doing so will motivate and inspire me, I thought I’d share enough details to get you all excited (or at least help to keep me accountable).

This year, once again, I’m using NaNo to write a Twine project; and once again, I’m doing something experimental new and interesting with the format. I’m pushing this one more in the direction of game instead of story, which means less for what it will look like than it does for how to develop it: I’m suddenly having to think in terms of puzzles and solutions rather than decisions and consequences as I plot, which is slowing me down quite a bit. I’m hoping I’ll be able to speed it up a bit once things start to fall into place.

(If I’m going to make a habit of this NaNoWriMo Twine thing, I hope next year I’ll have the sense to write a nice straightforward linear branch-and-bottleneck story. Also, to come up with an idea in October.)

I’m not necessarily aiming for 50k words. I’m certainly not aiming for a novel. But I am aiming for a good and complete Twine game complex enough to impress, and I aim to finish it by the end of November. Look forward to the finished thing!

Thank you.

4 thoughts on “NaNo 2016: Mid-Month Check-In

  1. Well, your word count graph certainly makes me feel better about mine! Sorry to hear you were in the hospital, though: is everything okay?

    I’m quite keen to see what you make of a more game-style story, by the way. I was impressed by the structure of “Between the Trees,” which really kept me guessing as to how it was put together, so something geared more towards puzzles sounds like it could be a lot of fun.

    Like

    • It’s actually a brother of mine in the hospital: it’s been a week and he’s not out yet. Some sort of intestinal infection. They’re still working out what caused it, but I’m hopeful that he ought to be out soon.
      I’ve found that one of Twine’s biggest weaknesses is the fact that using links – essentially, always listing all available options – robs the reader/player of having to actually come up with anything themself. I’ve come up with a mechanic that works around that: I’m eager to see how it’s received!

      Like

Leave a Reply

